News Release:
TEDC Honors Cities with Community Economic Development Awards

For Release

TEDC Honors Cities with Community Economic Development Awards
The Texas Economic Development Council (TEDC) announced the recipients of its annual Community Economic Development Awards (CEDA) for 2011.

The awards were presented at a special awards breakfast held Thursday, October 6th at the TEDC’s 50th Anniversary Annual Conference at the Worthington Renaissance Hotel in Fort Worth. The two and one half-day conference was held October 5 – 7th. The conference featured 11 breakout sessions and seven keynote addresses and featured such speakers as Richard Fisher, President/CEO of the Dallas Fed; Steve Murdock, Professor of Sociology at Rice University; Matt Rose, President/CEO BNSF Railway; Ambassador Ron Kirk, U.S. Trade Representative; and, Todd Staples, Commissioner, Texas Department of Agriculture.

The Community Economic Development Awards program recognizes exceptional contributions of TEDC member cities toward the economic vitality of their communities and the state of Texas through creativity, leadership, and partnership in the achievement of business retention, business recruitment and community improvement.

The CEDA committee received applications from 29 member communities. Nominees were then judged on five criteria: innovativeness, transferability, community commitment and leverage, measured objectives, and secondary benefits.

Communities nominated included: Category I (population of less than 5,000) – Ferris, Somerset and Tye. Category II (population (5,001 to 15,000) – Bellmead, Bridgeport, Buda, Cuero, Kilgore, Monahans, McCulloch County and Snyder. Category III (population 15,000 to 40,000) – Bay City, Cibolo, Ennis, Farmer Branch and Nederland. Category IV (population 40,001 to 100,000) – Allen, Longview, Missouri City, New Braunfels, Sugar Land, Victoria and Waller County. Category V (100,000+) Fort Worth (2), Houston Port Region, Lubbock, San Antonio and San Marcos.

The CEDA recipients in the five population categories are:

  • Category I (
  • Category II (5,001 – 15,000) Bridgeport
  • Category III (15,001 – 40,000) Cibolo
  • Category IV (40,001 – 100,000) Victoria
  • Category V (100,000+) Lubbock

“Our CEDA breakfast is one of the ways in which our organization honors the excellent work done by our communities, their leaders, and their economic development professionals,” noted Ray Covey of Austin, 2011 TEDC Chair. “Each community nominated achieved excellence in economic development and substantially improved the economic base of their respective regions. The recipient communities in each population category were recognized for extraordinary accomplishments in meeting the criteria set forth in the nomination process.”

The TEDC was organized in 1961 and provides information, education and legislative services to its members to foster the expansion of existing businesses, the location of new firms and the development of strategies that promote a positive business climate in Texas. With 850 members, the TEDC is now the largest state economic development association in the nation.

For more information contact:
Mr. Carlton Schwab
Texas Economic Development Council
(512) 480-8432

Comments are closed.